
‘Oh crikey’ – Alan Brazil rages at what he saw in Tottenham draw with Newcastle
Newcastle were awarded a penalty against Tottenham that has caused plenty of controversy.
Tottenham secured a point in a 2-2 draw with Newcastle on Tuesday, coming from behind twice at St James’ Park to do so.
Cristian Romero scored twice for Spurs, making him their joint-third top scorer of the season, behind Micky van de Ven and Richarlison.
Bruno Guimaraes was on the score sheet for the hosts, as was Anthony Gordon, with the latter’s goal coming from the spot in a decision that has Alan Brazil baffled.
Rodrigo Bentancur penalised for holding Dan Burn
Gordon’s goal looked as though it was going to be the decisive one, though Romero had other ideas with his late overhead kick that caught Aaron Ramsdale off guard.
However, despite the Argentine rescuing a point for Spurs, fans are still baffled that the Magpies were awarded a penalty, and Brazil agrees.
Rodrigo Bentancur was deemed to have been holding Dan Burn as a corner came in, with the 6 ft 7 defender going down quite easily.
It was given due to sustained holding, but Brazil has echoed the thoughts of many when dissecting the incident live on talkSPORT.
“One of the big talking points was the penalty given to Newcastle with the score at 1-1,” Brazil said.
“Bentancur was adjudged to have fouled Dan Burn, purely because he wasn’t looking at the ball. Oh crikey, what do you mean? How many times do you see that in a Premier League box?“
What did Thomas Frank say about Newcastle penalty?
It’s a fair case to make that most people aren’t frustrated with the foul being given, but more so with the fact that it isn’t given several times throughout the season.
Premier League referees come in for a lot of criticism, with the majority of it down to the fact that they fail to show any consistency with their decisions, and Tottenham have fallen victim to several of those already this season.
This incident was no different, and Thomas Frank believes it was an error made by the officials.
Via BBC Sport, he said: “It was an absolute mistake from the VAR.
“The referee did good to do the ref call and they encourage the refereeing call on the pitch. For me, that is never a penalty.
“I think the referee’s call on the pitch, he nailed it, and VAR can only be if it’s clear and obvious.”
Whether the incident was a clear and obvious error is certainly up for debate, but it won’t be the last time it happens this season.
Enjoyed this article? Stay connected with all the latest Tottenham Hotspur news, updates, and behind-the-scenes content by following us on our new Instagram account – @tottenhamnews247